The second installment of the Kitsuné Tabloid series

To become part of French music nobility you don’t necessarily have to hide behind a mask for 15 years. You can try marrying the President, sleeping with Uffie or teaming up with white-hot label Kitsuné, as synth-pop band Phoenix just did.

French band Phoenix recently completed the second installment of Kitsuné Tabloid series. The label, known for distributing au courant electro acts like Digitalism, Little Boots and Fischerspooner, has now taken a step back in time. This compilation is not just the next big thing: it’s an extended voyage through musical history and a very intimate peek into Phoenix’s record bag.

Featuring pearls like the theatrical “Love Theme from Kiss” guitar opener, spazz-outs from psychedelic rockers The Red Crayola and The 13th Floor Elevators, the incredibly rare “Lady (Falling In Love)” by Beach Boy Dennis Wilson and Lou Reed’s epic ”Street Hassle”, Tabloid is chock-full of brilliance. As Thomas explains: “The plan was to pick tracks we’ve lived with and that have stood the test of time.”

From the beautiful artwork (“Portrait of a Lion” by Heli Barck) to the excellent track selections to the enclosed interview with Thomas Mars and Laurent Brancowitz, “Kitsuné Tabloid” has definitely whetted our appetite. For Phoenix’s upcoming album “Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix”, that is.

1. Kiss – Love Theme From Kiss
2. Dirty Projectors – Rise Above
3. The Red Crayola – Victory Garden
4. The Impressions – I’ve Been Trying
5. Chris Bell – I Am The Cosmos
6. Roxy Music – Pyjamarama
7. The 13th Floor Elevators – I Had To Tell You
8. Elvis Costello & The Attractions – Shipbuilding
9. D’Angelo – Send It On
10. Tangerine Dream – Love On A Real Train
11. Urge Overkill – Stull (Part 1)
12. Lô Borges – Aos Barões
13. Iggy Pop & James Williamson – Master Charge
14. Dennis Wilson – Lady (Falling in Love)
15. Irma Thomas – It’s Raining
16. Ritchie Valens – In A Turkish Town
17. Dusty Springfield – I Think It’s Gonna Rain Today
18. Lou Reed – Street Hassle