With Everything Is True

Paul Dempsey has crafted a beautiful and richly evocative record that defies and exceeds expectations.

On his debut solo album Paul Dempsey blazes a remarkable new trail that illuminates his standing as one of Australia’s leading songwriters from a whole new perspective.

On Everything Is True, the immense guitars and conclusive backbeat that Dempsey has orchestrated over Something For Kate’s five acclaimed albums are put aside, succeeded by a striking new palette where a tender voice and expressive acoustic guitar are supplemented by airy rhythms, the expert punctuation of an electric guitar and gently immersive keyboards. This is music where light filters through the gaps, uplifting and eminently melodic.

Everything Is True was essentially recorded by just two people in a makeshift home studio: Dempsey and co-producer, engineer and “Devil’s advocate” Wayne Connolly (Youth Group, Josh Pyke, You Am I) took over a pair of small bungalows at MacMaster’s Beach, an hour north of Sydney on NSW’s Central Coast, for a month at the start of 2009. Connolly, his partner and their young son lived in one bungalow, while the other bungalow had a living room full of recording equipment and a second room to make the noise in. At night Dempsey slept amidst the clutter of instruments that nourished each day’s work. The album was then mixed in Los Angeles by Doug Boehm (Elliott Smith, French Kicks).

Hear the track – Fast friends

Paul Dempsey – Out The Airlock

Track Listing for Everything Is True

1. Bats
2. Fast Friends
3. Out The Airlock
4. Ramona Was A Waitress
5. Take Us To Your Leader
6. Bird In A Basement
7. Theme From Nice Guy
8. Have You Fallen Out Of Love?
9. The Great Optimist
10. Safety In Numbness
11. Man Of The Moment

Spotted on jb hi-fi